Calico Guest House

Kim and Darren Dear
Calico Boutique Guest House
Marine Drive, Hannafore West Looe
Cornwall PL13 2DH
Tel: 01503 262160

e: enquiries@calicoguesthouse.co.uk

Guest Reviews at Calico Boutique Guest House

Guest Reviews

As an alternative to Trip Advisor, if you wish to post a Review on our website, please email the Review to enquiries@calicoguesthouse.co.uk and we will publish it below:-

Kim and Darren

Thank you both for a wonderful short break, and your recommendations for local services. We had a fab couple of days, 200% for service, attentiveness and cleanliness, you are doing a fabulous job. We will always recommend your boutique to anyone heading that way.
Thank you for all the perfect little touches with our Easter bunnies and our mints for the journey home. Wishing you both all the very best for future business, and a big tickle for Lulu for being an adorable furbaby xxxxxx

Sara (March 2016)

********************

Kim and Darren,

Darren and Kim the most perfect of hosts
We write pen to page to give you this toast
Calico Boutique a picturesque place
Where your greeted with a warm friendly face
"Full English Breakfast" 'Oh yes if you please
Cooked to perfection with great expertise
Happy Holiday memories so clear
Stay with us until we return next year

Linda and Steve (North Yorkshire August 2015)

********************

Dear Kim Darren,

Location, Location, Location, Calico has the best location in Looe (by far) . This Guest House is in the perfect location, just a few meters from the sea with fabulous views, a great patio terrace area and much, much more!! Sit on the terrace in the afternoon sun and watch the world go by!! Thank you Kim Darren and Lulu. We will be back very soon (we have booked twice for next year)!!

Dave and Lisa (Chesterfield June 2015)

********************

Dear Kim and Darren,
Just wanted to say a HUGE thank you for our stay at Calico in February.
Ever since I stayed there last year with Val I have been pining to go back and I was so pleased to have another opportunity.
Seriously we cannot find one reason to fault you. The rooms are perfect, so tastefully decorated, clean and fresh and this time the one with the view over the seafront was fabulous.
The breakfast was faultless. Everything one could possibly wish for and most of all served with such a lovely smile and happy atmosphere. Good for you too Darren you make a perfect breakfast!
We appreciate the welcome you always give us with a lovely hot cup of tea in the conservatory overlooking the sea. What more could one wish for after a long journey!
Well done to both of you for all that you do to make your guests so welcome, comfortable and well fed!
God bless, take care and we do hope to see you again in the future.

Jenny and John (Feb 2015)

********************

Dear Kim and Darren,

Thank you very much indeed for another superb stay at Calico Guesthouse. You made us so welcome and went to a lot of trouble on our behalf. Our weekend away was exactly what we needed and we enjoyed it very much. Our room was so comfortable and cosy, as is the whole Guesthouse. We'll look forward to coming again when our friends will hopefully be able to join us. Thank you again.

Best wishes, Rachel and Richard (Feb 2015)

********************

Hi Both, thank you both so much for making our few days away in Looe so perfect! Your attention to detail is wonderful. Breakfasts out of this world. You must've requested good weather for us because now we're home its not stopped raining!!! Your recommendations of places to eat were spot on . Hope to return sometime next year,,,

Best Wishes Sally and Steve.x (July 2014)

********************

Looe ist für sich genommen schon ein schöner Ort um Burlap z mac-hen. In Overindulge MIT eminent Enthalpy im Calico Guesthouse wird daraus eine wirklich schöne Erinnerung.

Das Haus ist sehr gut geführt, die Zimmer ermöglichen aufgrund der Größe und der Ausstattung auch einen bequemen, längeren Aufenthalt (wir hatten leider nur 3 Tage Zeit).

Das Haus liegt ruhig (kein Durchgangsverkehr) und direkt am Meer mit einem tollen Ausblick auf eine kleine Privatinsel. Es gibt eine Terrasse mit Stühlen und Tischen, die man

bei schönem Wetter ausgiebig nutzen kann, und einen Wintergarten, der ansonsten als Aufenthaltsraum für die Gäste zur Verfügung steht.

Das Frühstück kann man sich, je nach Geschmack und Appetit, individuell zusammenstellen. An der Qualität und dem Service könnte sich so manches teure Hotel ein Beispiel

nehmen.

Wir haben unseren Aufenthalt auf jeden Fall genossen, und kommen gerne wieder.

Till next year and the best wishes from Germany…

Gabi & Wolfgang (June 2014)

********************

Dear Kim & Darren,

Just a brief note to say thank you for making our weekend so special. When we came down for the family wedding we thought that Calico was just a place to “hang our clothes and rest our heads” and you turned our weekend into a holiday.

Your kindness, warmth and attentiveness made us feel very welcome. We will certainly recommend you to all our friends.

I hope you have a great season, I am sure all your guests will enjoy themselves as much as we did.

On behalf of my sister, Georgina , and myself thank you once again for a lovely weekend.

Kindest regards,

Lynda Ingram (2014)

********************

Amazing, better than we ever envisaged.

Kim and Darren were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, they even made us a cup of tea on arrival.

Rooms were large. Beds were comfy. Wonderful views of Looe bay.

Breakfasts were amazing, huge, delish, kept us going all day till evening meal.

The best B and B we have ever stayed in 20/10.

We will be back!

Vanessa (2014)

********************

Just like to say Kim and Darren, thanks for a fabulous stay 2 weeks ago. Felt very welcomed, Gorgeous room, fabulous views. I can see why my parents visit time after another. Hope to see you in March.

Carmen (2013)

********************

Wir waren rund 1 Woche im Calico und wurden dort verwöhnt. Vor allem das Frühstück mit dem frischen Obstsalat ist zu erwähnen. Die Zimmer sind ansprechend, teilweise mit Terrasse oder Ausblick aufs Meer und die Insel. Es gibt eine Art Wintergarten, von dem man bei Kaffee oder Tee, mit dem bereitgelegtem Fernglas übers Meer schauen kann. Das Guesthouse liegt etwas außerhalb des Zentrums und somit ruhig gelegen und man hat keine Parkplatzsorgen - aber mit einem mehr oder minder kurzem Spaziergang ist der Ort und diverse Restaurants gutzu erreichen. Dank an Kim, Darren (und Romero) für die schöne Zeit.

Kind regards,

Tatjana (June 2013)

********************

Just an email to say many thanks for my lovely stay with you the other week. Always a pleasure to see you and to stay in your lovely guest house. I felt most comfortable and the breakfasts were scrummy. Even though they are all grilled it was probably the toast with lashings of butter and marmalade which put the weight on !!!

Hope you have a good season, will see you again next year. Love Rosemary xx (June 2013)

********************

Für Calicao Guesthouse spricht alles:

Die Lage- direkt am Meer mit einem phantastischen Blick auf Looe Bay and Looe Island, und sehr ruhig, da es keinen Durchgangsverkehr gibt. Zum Towncenter sind es nur 10‘ zu Fuß.

Das Haus- sehr gemütlich, aber auch modern mit einem schönen Garten.

Die Gastgeber- Kim und Darren sind sehr sympathische, freundliche und immer hilfsbereite Gastgeber

Das Frühstück- sensationell, ob continental oder f.e.b.

Alles in allem: Wer ein paar Tage in Cornwall verbringen will, ist bei Kim und Darren bestens aufgehoben.

Best wishes

Fred and Inge (2013)

********************

My husband and I planned a long weekend for May bank holiday in Looe, after searching the internet we booked a stay at Calico boutique guest house. What a find!!! The whole experience was absolutely wonderful. The area of Hannafore was fantastic, just far enough away from the hustle and bustle of town, but near enough to walk down, if you didn’t fancy a drive. We parked on the road outside of the guest house, it was hassle free. We went to the lost gardens of Heligan, it was brilliant, we would definitely recommend a visit, during the visit to the gardens we received a discount off the entry to the Eden Project, which sorted out our plans for the following day. After a long day out and about you are welcome to sit in the conservatory at Calico, The views are breath taking, in fact the whole place was so relaxing and welcoming. Kim and Darren were brilliant hosts, the breakfasts were lovely, our room was delightful, with a wonderful seaview and to top it all we had lovely weather, what a joy! We will return to Calico, now we have found it later on in the year. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Andrew and Stella – Bristol - 2013

********************

Fantastic

Situated in the Hannafore area of West Looe, with sea views of Looe Island, we found Calico Guest house strategically located in a convenient position for the town (10 minutes walk away) and beautiful National Trust coastal scenery (10 minutes walk in the other direction towards Polperro). Our hosts were Kim and Darren Dear, who could not be faulted on their attention to detail for our comfort and well being. The accommodation was excellent and although evening meals were not provided, there is an excellent range of hostelries in town or within a short walking distance of Calico Guest House. Looe being a fishing port, we were particularly impressed with the quality and freshness of fish meals available. Our stay of four nights was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and we have no hesitation in recommending Calico House in the capable hands of Kim and Darren, to other visitors.

Kind Regards - R and J (2012)

********************

Ihre Bewertung: eine sehr schöne, gemütliche, saubere und sehr ruhige Unterkunft. Allgemein etwas klein die Zimmer aber mit viel Stauraum. Calico Guesthouse liegt direkt am Meer. Die Zimmer 5 und 6 haben eine schöne Terasse mit Blick aufs Meer. Es gibt eine allg. Terrasse für alle. Der Frühstücksraum ist sehr gemütlich und es gibt einen kl. Aufenthaltsraum mit Blick aufs Meer. Im Zimmer gibt es einen Wasserkoch zum Kaffe und Tee kochen. Das Frühstück ist sehr gut. Man kann wählen zwichen typischem full english breakfast oder Continentalem Frühstück. Es gibt jeden Morgen frischen Obstsalat, Joghurt, div. Säfte, Cornflakes, Toast, Marmalade und auf Wunsch div. warme Speisen z.B. Rührei etc. Die Gastgeber sind ausgesprochen nett und liebenswürdig. Sie geben Tips fürs Sightseeing und stehen immer zur Verfügung bei Fragen.

Sabine & Ralf (2012)

********************

Reviews on Trip Advisor

Calico facebook page

Calico Facebook page

Quality in Cornwall Award

Quaility in Cornwall

The Looe Directory what's on guide.

Whats on in Looe